Transforming…Your Skin! ♥

I know what you’re thinking! Eb is the last person who should be giving out skin care advice. It’s true I don’t always looked as dolled up as most of you. As a matter of fact, I wear very little make-up ever! I blame my over-the-counter make-up phobia. I have a fear of chemicals and toxins that go into most make-up products. So I refuse to buy products I don’t trust. Women’s Health Magazine published that “As much as 60% of topical skin-care products are absorbed through the skin and into the bloodstream”. So excuse me if I don’t jump at the chance to poison my blood for the sake of having a pretty face. Don’t be offended just because you wear make-up. I do too! Keep reading! :)

Toxic chemicals in cosmetic products have been clinically proven to cause cancer! Next time you choose a foundation off the shelf at Wal-Mart check the list of ingredients on the back. You won’t understand any of it. Better yet write them down and look them up when you get home. You’ll never wear make-up again!

Well, it’s hard to swear off make-up completely. It’s not impossible I guess (kudos to those who can). I just don’t want to have to do it. I like to add a little color to my cheeks before I go out the door. Even if I’m running late I always apply mascara if nothing else!

I do this with a guilty feeling though that I’m taking hours off my life, not to mention how it actually affects my skin in the long run. I mean it makes me pretty (or at least presentable, lol) for a day, but it can’t be healthy for your skin over time.

I have been doing a lot of research this past year and considered many companies. Companies that said they were all natural that still included ingredients made in a lab. Companies (like bareMinerals or Bare Escentuals) who brag about their low amount of ingredients and use of naturally derived minerals. Although their foundation has very few ingredients, these still include Bismuth Oxychloride. It’s a mineral, but not a natural one! It’s a byproduct of lead or copper smelting. Another ingredient of Bare Escentuals products is Talc. This is a naturally derived mineral but not everything that’s natural is good for your face. Talc can contain asbestiform fibres and is listed on IARC’s Group 1 list of dangerous carcinogens. It pays to do your research.

My point is this…Beware of what make-up companies advertise. You can’t just trust what they say, because they are out to sell a product. That’s why when I found 100% Pure products I still did my own research. I looked up their ingredients in many of their products. If they sneak something in one, then health is not important enough to them to keep them from sneaking it into something else they sell. So far I haven’t found anything in there products I don’t trust. I have finally found a line of make-up I love.

Maybe you think I’m crazy, because what you put on your face doesn’t matter that much to you. Hopefully though, if you just never knew, I’ve enlightened you to think about your overall health. If you use healthier cosmetic products then your skin will look healthier and more beautiful. Also, if you use healthier cosmetic products then your overall health will not suffer.

A few days ago I included a link to the 100% Pure website where I order my make-up on my side bar. Check it out if you haven’t already. Also this is a link to their Pinterest so you can follow them there! I was not hired by the company to advertise for them or sell their products. lol I am just very excited to finally have found make-up I can use and trust that doesn’t have unhealthy side effects that go unnoticed. I care not only about my body, but Lula’s future health and what I will introduce to her when she starts wearing make-up. I think that it’s sad we have to worry about what companies sell us and what health risks their products carry. I’m done preaching though. I’m going back to working on the house now. ;)

One thought on “Transforming…Your Skin! ♥

  1. Awesome post! So enlightening! I will definitely check them out too. : )

    I love that you take the time to share with the rest of the world your wisdom on so many topics! From budgeting to food tips, now make-up tips- thank you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

